Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship


In memory of our 1998 National Non-Pro Champion, the National Shag Dance Championship Board of Directors established the Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship to assist in the education of worthy college students who have competed or whose parents have competed in the Nationals.  Only major divisional competitors  ( Junior, Pros and Non pros et,) are eligible for the scholarships.  Collegiate “Shagging with the Stars” or any other of the non-major divisions are not eligible.  In other words, all applicants must have competed in one of the five major divisions.

Accounting and legal fees are paid by the N.S.D.C. Our fundraising goal is to acquire adequate principle, allowing the interest accrued to fund each annual scholarship. Contributions are welcome from shag clubs, businesses, families and individuals. The foundation is classified as a 501 (c) (3) for tax deductions.

The scholarship committee includes Beth’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. Worth Mitchell; one member appointed by the family; and three appointeed by the NSDC Board plus the NSDC Chairman as a non-voting selection member.

Recipients of this scholarship have been awarded a total of over $100,000 since 1999.

We encourage you to contribute today to this lasting memorial for a true shag angel. Please become a part of this worthy endeavor.

Mail checks payable to:
Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship
5111 North Kings Highway
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

To apply for the scholar ship CLICK HERE

Past recipients of the “Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship”:

2016 – Hannah Ashmore (Appalachian), Chase Forrester (Clemson), plus incremental awards to Zach Burroughs (Catawba), Isaiah Burroughs (Appalachian), Justin Burroughs (Catawba), and Anna Victoria Jacobs (Appalachian)

2015 – Isaiah Burroughs, Mason Floyd, Anna Victoria Jacobs, plus an incremental award to Kayla Henley, Justin Burroughs, Zach Burroughs

2014 – Justin Burroughs (Catawba College), Kayla Henley (UNCW), Taylor Perkinson (Radford), plus an incremental award to Cody Edwards & Zach Burroughs

2013 – Zach Burroughs, plus an incremental award to Cody Edwards & Justin Poston

2012 – Kalin Ellis (Lander University), Kristen Floyd (Coastal Carolina)

2011 – Krystal Bravo (ECU), Cody Edwards (Clemson), & Will Dallas (UNC)

2010 – Brady Ellis – a Sophomore at Coastal Carolina University

2009 – Justin Poston – a Sophomore at William and Mary

2008 – Geoff Burdick – MBA at Pfeiffer University

2007 – Stoneville Elementary School

2006 – Matthew Floyd – US Military Academy at West Point

2005 – Christina Woodruff – UNC Pembroke

2004 – Leslie Melton – UNC Wilmington

2003 – Jamae Campbell – University of SC Medical College

2002 – Jason Poston – Virginia Tech

2001 – Nikki Kontoulas – UNC Wilmington

2000 – LeeAnn Best Norris – University of SC School of Pharmacy

1999 – Mandy Holt – Horry Georgetown Technical College