Welcome to the National Shag Dance Championships ("NSDC")

The NSDC started in Myrtle Beach in 1984 and is the longest continuously running shag dance contest in the United States. Past winners of the NSDC have performed on countless TV shows and events including: Good Morning America, CBS This Morning, PGA Annual Banquets, NBA Games, Beach Music Awards, and Harvard University.

The NSDC is the past winner of two "Feather Awards" for best swing dance event in the United States.

In addition to hosting the annual contest, the NSDC established the "Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship" in 1998 to annually assist in the education of a deserving college student who is a current or past contest in the NSDC, or whose family has competed in the NSDC. The scholarship foundation is classified as a 501c3 for tax deductions. Scholarship recipients are announced each year at the Finals of the NSDC.

The NSDC is held over two weekends each year with the Preliminaries (Qualifying Round) occurring near the end of January and the Finals in early March. If you enjoy watching dance shows on TV, then you should attend the NSDC and experience the excitement of a first class dance competition in person.

Click on the links above for more information on the contest (including dates, time, tickets, rules, etc.) as well as information on the Beth Mitchell Scholarship, past NSDC winners, and more. Or you can contact us at shagnationals@sc.rr.com or by calling Barry Thigpen at 843-222-6706

3 Feb 2010 Latest NSDC News »

2107 Shagging with the Stars

The 2017 Shagging with the Stars and Pro Instructors met recently at the Flamingo Grill in Myrtle Beach.  They will compete on Friday, January 29th at the Spanish Galleon.  Proceeds to benefit the Beth Mitchell Memorial Scholarship Fund.  Group Photo (L to R):  M.J. Schwartz, Kim Chance, Lauren Benton, Jeff Hargett, Donna Hosaflook, Ryan Earnest, Holly McMillan, Jackson Batten, Rev. Jason Lee, Pat Folds, Scott Campbell, Renee Elvis, Mark Porter, Renee Scott, Sara Dee Timmerman, Rusty Hosaflook







2016 NSDC Division Winners

Pro – Sam West & Kristal Taylor Davis

Masters – Montine & Connie Bridges

Senior – Gene & Nancy Pope

Non-Pro – Jeremy Webb & Kalin Ellis

Junior II – Jackson Batten & Karlee Martin

Junior I – Trey Henley & Lizzie Batten

Overall Winners – Sam West & Kristal Taylor Davis







2016 Divisional winners photo L to R – Presenter – Tommy Moore – This year’s “Shagging with the Stars” winner; Gene and Nancy Pope – Senior Division; Trey Henley and Lizzie Batten, patient Junior I Division; Jackson Batten and Karlee Martin, Junior II Division; Sam West and Kristal Taylor Davis, Professional Division and Overall Winners and Kalin Ellis and Jeremy Webb, No-Professional Division.







Returning to the Nationals after 25 years, Montine and Connie Bridges won the Masters Division in their first Nationals Masters competition!


Congratulations 2016 Shagging With the Stars & Collegiate Winners

Female – Jessica Smith of Horry Georgetown Tech Foundation

Male – Tommy Moore of the Myrtle Beach Fire Department

Collegiate – Appalachian State University

Pro Finalists

Pro Finalists

2016 NSDC Sponsors

South Atlantic Bank

Donna & Rusty Hosaflook

Kathryn & Eddie Monsour

Camille & Bruce Morgan

Shaggers Hall of Fame

Remax Ocean Forest